22 August, 2016

Form of Government

The Dominican Republic is a representative democracy. The Dominican Constitution proclaims a social and democratic State of law. President Luis Abinader Corona is currently in charge of the executive branch of government. More info:


The Congress of the Dominican Republic is the bicameral legislature of the government and consists of two houses, the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies, which are chosen through direct election. Each of the 190 members of the Chamber of Deputies represents a district and usually serves a four-year term.

National Palace of the Dominican Republic
National Palace of the Dominican Republic