22 August, 2016


The Dominican Republic is the second largest nation in the Caribbean. It shares the island of Hispaniola, situated between Puerto Rico and Cuba, with Haiti. The Dominican Republic occupies the eastern two-thirds of the island and Haiti occupies the western portion. To the north is the Atlantic Ocean and to the south is the Caribbean Sea.

The Dominican Republic has a semitropical climate, with an average yearly temperature of 26°C (78°F). The rainy season is from May to November, with rainfall heaviest in the northern regions and lighter in the southwest. The hurricane season lasts from June until November, with August and September being the peak months.

The Dominican Republic is geographically diverse for its size, having extensive beaches of white sand, evergreen forests in the highlands, fertile valleys with exuberant vegetation, and even desert zones with dune formations. Its mineral resources include nickel, bauxite, gold and silver.

The country is crossed by four parallel mountain ranges running northwest to southeast, with fertile valleys in between. The largest is the Cordillera Central, extending from northwest of Santo Domingo into Haiti. Its peak, Pico Duarte, is 3,175 metres high. It is the highest point in the Caribbean and is often covered with frost during the winter. Along the north coast is the Cordillera Septentrional. South of the Cordillera Central are the Sierra de Neiba and the Sierra de Bahoruco ranges. Between the Sierra de Neiba and the Sierra de Bahoruco is Lake Enriquillo, the largest natural lake in the country, with the lowest elevation in the Caribbean islands. It is also the only salt water lake in the world inhabited by crocodiles.

The country is divided into 31 provinces and one district, in which Santo Domingo, the capital, is located. Other important cities are Santiago, San Pedro de Macorís, La Romana, Puerto Plata, Barahona, La Vega, San Francisco de Macorís, and Higüey.

There are maritime ports in Barahona, La Romana, Manzanillo, Puerto Plata, San Pedro de Macorís, and Santo Domingo. The Caucedo Peninsula, near Santo Domingo, is now home to a new state-of-the-art container terminal facility. The country has seven international airports and three for domestic flights.


En vista de la situación con relación al Coronavirus (COVID-19), les informamos que estaremos ofreciendo nuestros servicios consulares de forma limitada, vía correo electrónico y correo postal.

También puede solicitar nuestros servicios a través de nuestra página web: http://www.dominicanembassy.org.uk/consular-services/

En caso de necesitar asistir de manera personal a nuestras oficinas favor de llamar al +44(0)2072626856 o escribir a consulate@dominicanembassy.org.uk.


In view of the situation regarding Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak, we inform you that we will be offering our consular services on a limited basis, via email and post.

You can also request our services through our website: http://www.dominicanembassy.org.uk/consular-services/

In case you need to attend our offices personally
please call +44(0)2072626856 or write to consulate@dominicanembassy.org.uk.


El Estado Dominicano está implementando desde el 29 de noviembre un nuevo formulario digital de entrada y salida que deberán llenar los pasajeros que visiten la República Dominicana.

El formulario se accede a través del enlace siguiente: http://eticket.migracion.gob.do


La Junta de Aviación Civil (JAC) emitió la Resolución 147-2020 donde decidió la cancelación de las operaciones aéreas entre Reino Unido y la República Dominicana hasta el 10 de enero. CON EXCEPCIÓN DE LOS PASAJEROS CON PASAPORTE DOMINICANO, a los cuales se les permitirá entrar pero se les requerirá un período de cuarentena.


As of November 29, the Dominican government is implementing a new digital entry and exit form that passengers visiting the Dominican Republic must fill out.

The form is accessed through this link: http://eticket.migracion.gob.do/


Civil Aviation (JAC) suspends flights with the United Kingdom. The decision will be effective until January 10. Passengers holding a Dominican passport will be able to fly and enter the Dominican Republic but will be required to quarantine upon arrival into Punta Cana.